Study Plan

The Doctoral Programme in Territory, Risk and Public Policies has a 4-year duration (8 semesters), totalling 240 ECTS). The PhD thesis project defense occurs at the end of the first academic year. The Programme is lectured in Portuguese.

1st year, 1st semester
Conference cycle (6 ECTS)
Risk mitigation strategies (8 ECTS)
Risk factors and land management (8 ECTS)
Methods and techniques for risk assessment and management (8 ECTS)

1st year, 2nd semester
Citizenship and risk governance (8 ECTS)
Land planning and multiscale risk analysis (8 ECTS)
Public policies and risk management instruments (8 ECTS)
Research seminar (6 ECTS)

2nd, 3rd and 4th years
Thesis (180 ECTS)