Frantz Fanon Lifetime Achievement Award 2022

Boaventura de Sousa Santos distinguished with The Frantz Fanon Award

February 2022

Boaventura de Sousa Santos, director emeritus of the Centre for Social Studies of the University of Coimbra, was distinguished with the Frantz Fanon Lifetime Achievement Award, attributed by the Caribbean Philosophical Association (CPA) for contributions to philosophical thought, literature and guidance. American political activists, scholars and authors Angela Davis and Barbara Ransby were also acknowledged with the same award.

According to statements from the committee in charge of granting these awards, Boaventura de Sousa Santos' journey «exemplifies the spirit of Fanon's commitment to The Wretched of the Earth (Les Damnés de la Terre) and the urgency of building homes for living, courageous thought». Hanétha Vété-Congolo, president of the committee, also declared that «for never stopping to teach us that our pluriverse is our shared space capable of elastic expansion at will where we each and all have legitimacy, Professor Boaventura de Sousa Santos is a voice that must never extinguish. Thank you, Professor Boaventura de Sousa Santos, for your resilient commitment.»

The selection of awardees is made annually by the Caribbean Philosophical Association’s Awards Committee, which consists of all prior recipients of the Frantz Fanon, the Nicolás Guillén, and the Stuart Hall Awards, an appointed senior scholar, and two appointed junior scholars.

The awards will be formally conferred at a special ceremony at the Caribbean Philosophical Association’s annual conference, which will be held this year at Michigan State University, between October 27 and 29th.